Specialty Certification

Specialty Certification

Specialty Certification

CTRS Specialty Certification is an advanced credential that is a direct extension of the CTRS designation. Only individuals who currently possess active CTRS status are eligible to apply.

What is it?

CTRS Specialty Certification is a professional credential that recognizes and verifies expertise and competence beyond the CTRS credential by acknowledging the CTRS whose practice has achieved an advanced level in a specialized area of practice.

The Value of CTRS Specialty Certification

As healthcare evolves, the technical knowledge and skills required to practice successfully in a complex service environment increase significantly. Beyond the broad range of essential professional skills, there is an increasing expectation to develop specialized knowledge and skills that are distinctive to specific populations and service sectors. CTRS Specialty Certification provides a higher level of assurance and verification of established expertise to patients, consumers, employers, and other professionals in the delivery of quality recreational therapy services. Specialization is well recognized within professional practice and has become the norm within the health and human service delivery system today.

Professional Areas of Recognition

NCTRC awards specialty certification in the following distinct professional areas:

  • Physical Medicine/Rehabilitation
  • Geriatrics
  • Developmental Disabilities
  • Behavioral Health
  • Community Inclusion Services

How to Obtain CTRS Specialty Certification

Advanced knowledge and skill in recreational therapy can be acquired through several methods including education programs, conferences focused upon specific skills or diagnostic populations, and the successful acquisition of expert skills that have been mastered over a substantial period of practice.

CTRS Specialty Certification is a direct extension of the CTRS credential. An active CTRS can apply and submit a separate application for each designation to be awarded multiple specialty certifications.

The specialty certification designation is valid for a period of up to five (5) years if awarded at the beginning of the five-year Recertification cycle. If the specialty certification designation is awarded at a point after Recertification, then the specialty certification validation period will be for the remainder of the certification cycle. Recertification of both the CTRS credential and the specialty certification designation would then occur at the same time at the next scheduled recertification due date. All documented Continuing Education (CE) hours used during the specialty certification application process can be utilized for CTRS recertification as long as the documented CE hours were earned within the five-year recertification period.